Concealed Handgun Permits are processed on Thursdays from 07:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
It is the duty of the Montezuma County Sheriff’s Office to protect our citizens from fraud, theft, and deceptive business practices whenever possible. In doing so, the Montezuma County Sheriff’s Office requires any handgun instructor who wishes to offer this type of service to our residents, to provide proof of current and authorized certification and a course outline of instruction to meet the competence requirement. The listed Certified Firearms Instructors on our website have provided proof of current handgun trainer certifications and a course outline of instruction offered to Montezuma County residents required by Colorado law before applying for a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit. The listed Certified Firearms Instructors and the handgun courses they teach meet the requirements set by law. A copy of these documents can be viewed at our office during business hours. The decision on which instructor or course to attend is solely up to you, and the Montezuma County Sheriff’s Office does not recommend one instructor or course over another. Every instructor must maintain their certifications. This list will be updated periodically as needed to remain current and provide our citizens with the best protection possible.
|Craig Hart||Summit Shooting||970-565-2474|
|Brad Gutknecht||High Mark LLC||Coloradohighmark.com|
|Keith Cramer||Summit Shooting||970-565-2474|
|Adam Winch||I.C.E. Training Company||970-986-0774|
|Ricky S. Thompson||N/A||970-560-0067|
|Allen R. Jensen||N/A|
|Tom Harmon||Equip 2 Conceal Firearms Group NM||1-866-371-6111|
|Craig D. Stock||Equip 2 Conceal Firearms Group NM||1-866-371-6111|
|Tyson Cox||Lucky Irish Tactical||970-739-1422|
- Applicants must successfully complete a background investigation which includes, but is not limited to, information obtained from the Colorado Bureau of Investigation, Federal Bureau of Investigation, National Crime Information Center, Colorado Crime Information Center, and other Law Enforcement Agencies.
- Be a resident of Montezuma County.
- At least 21 years of age upon receipt of the application.
REQUIRED FEES (All Money Orders & Cashiers Checks are to be made out to “Montezuma County Sheriff’s Office”
|Administrative Fee||$10.00 (This fee can be paid with cash or personal check.)|
|MCSO||$52.50 (This fee must be paid with money order or cashier’s check.)|
|Notary Fee||$ 2.00 (If we notarize your CCW application, cash or personal check, can be combined with Administrative Fee)|
|MCSO||$13.00(This fee must be paid with money order or cashier’s check.)|
|Administrative Fee||$10.00(This fee can be paid with cash or personal check.)|
|Notary Fee||$ 2.00(If we notarize your CCW application, can be cash or personal check, can be combined with Administrative fee)|
|Renewal Late Fee||$ 15.00 (This fee can be paid with cash or personal check, can be combined with above fees)|
For new and renewal applicants.
- Copy of Proof of Firearms Training.
- Proof can be any of the following:
- Participation in an organized shooting competition or current military service.
- The applicant is a certified instructor at the time of application.
- Honorable discharge from U.S. Military within 3 years of application.
- Honorable discharge from U.S. Military that reflects pistol qualifications within 10 years preceding application submittal.
- Certificate showing retirement from Colorado law enforcement agency that reflects pistol qualifications within ten years preceding application submittal.
- Original handgun training certificate or copy of training certificate with original signature of the class instructor.
- Copy of current Colorado Driver’s License, Colorado ID, or Military ID and duty orders.
- Proof of Residency (if your ID is not Colorado).
- All permits are valid for a 5 year period from the date of issuance.
- If your card has been expired for 6 months or more after the expiration date, the permit shall be deemed permanently expired. A person whose permit has expired permanently may reapply by submitting a new application and the required fees as a new applicant.
- Colorado law (C.R.S. 18-12-213) states that Colorado will recognize a valid permit issued in another state IF the permit holder is 21 years of age or older AND the other states equally recognizes Colorado permits as valid in their state.
- As of January 29,, 2007 the following states have reciprocity with Colorado, for the most current list of states, log on to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation website a at http://cbi.state.co.us/ic/Reciprocity.html
A permit holder must notify the issuing Sheriff’s Office within thirty (30) days of moving. Failure to do so is considered a Class 1 Petty Offense. Please download and complete the Lost Permit/Change of Address form listed above (which must be notarized) and call the Montezuma County Sheriff’s Office at (970) 565-8452 extension 4987 to inform them of the change of address.
- A permit holder must notify the issuing Sheriff’s Office within three (3) days of loss, theft, or destruction of a concealed handgun permit. Failure to do so is considered a Class 1 Petty Offense. Please download and complete the Lost Permit/Change of Address form listed above or call the Montezuma County Sheriff’s Office at (970) 565-8452 extension 319 to inform them. If necessary, at the time of notification, a replacement card will be issued.
Downloads (information/application/change of address)
- Information Packet
- New CCW Permit Information/Fees
- CCW Permit Application
- CCW Change of Address
- Renewal CCW Permit Information/Fees
74 total views, 2 views today